Wendiewithanie is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Noob here, Transferring ACCESS 2003 database to new laptop. Help.

Hi, Ok just so you know I know nothing about ACCESS but I've inherited and manage the database for our community. I've been managing ACCESS 2003 on a laptop that took a turn for the worse. Fortunately that laptop was backed up and the database is getting loaded on my new laptop tonight.

So here is my question... I need to purchase a version of ACCESS that I can install on the new laptop that will integrate with the 2003 ACCESS database that is getting loaded. Where can I buy MS ACCESS stand alone? What version should I get, 2013? I currently have Office 2013 on the new laptop.

I want to reiterate that I do not know much about ACCESS nor am I a techie so keep your answers as if you are talking to a 5 year old.

Access 2013 can read and operate a 2003 db. I have several db, that were developed in Access XP (2002) that work without issue on my Win 10 Access 2013 software.

Google Microsoft Access 2013 and several hits will show you available options.

Quote Originally Posted by alansidman View Post
    Access 2013 can read and operate a 2003 db. I have several db, that were developed in Access XP (2002) that work without issue on my Win 10 Access 2013 software.

Google Microsoft Access 2013 and several hits will show you available options.
    Thank you for your reply and help!

Quote Originally Posted by Wendiewithanie View Post
    Thank you for your reply and help!
    Ok, I'm having no success finding MS ACCESS 2013 download online. Does anyone know if ACCESS 2016 will work? I'm using Office 2013 on my laptop currently. Thanks in advance for any help.

I don't know for sure, but I suspect that it will work. Most of MS applications are backwards compatible.

BTW, I did a quick google search for Access 2013 and found this: https://www.google.com/search?q=Acce...013%20download