Grizz14 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Multiple relationships to 1 table without combining data

Good afternoon all,

I am relatively new to Access and could use some assistance. I have 2 tables of information one is Prior year data, and the other is Current Year data. There then is a 3rd tab that I have called grouping. On the Grouping table I have a listing of Account numbers and a desired category that I want account numbers grouped into. This account table is then linked the Prior year table as well as the Current year table by account number.

What I am trying to accomplish, is to run a query that lists each grouping category once, and then sum all of the dollar amounts into each corresponding account group. In short, I'm building a consolidation based off of a set of grouping. Which I have build and it works when only looking at 1 data set.

Here's my issue, I need Column A of my query to be the account groupings, (done), column B to be prior year data (done), and column C to be current year data. (issue). In the query design, when I bring in current year data, it alters my Prior year data. My thought is that each data table is linked through the account grouping table. and when trying to consolidate separately into 2 different columns they are getting merged bc the database thinks that they are related...

I am not currently familiar with SQL which may make things more difficult in finding a solution.

Any help would be appreciated.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    In the query design, when I bring in current year data, it alters my Prior year data.
    I have no idea what this means.
    You add the current year field to the design and it does something to the prior year field while still in design view?
    Maybe post a pic of your query design...
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.