TS21 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit

Database modeling

Hello Community,

I'm new with databases and have to do a database for my internship/seminar-paper. The company I'm working for gave me the task to create a database with their competitors.

At this time I'm working on the "basic model" of the database. I created the first concept but I have no idea if it is right or wrong. It would be nice if someone could take a look at it and give me a feedback.

The direction of the arrows should illustrate a 1:N relation. The words which are underlined should symbolize the primary/foreign key.

Since I'm using a PC from the company for the task I wasn't able to install a software for sketching a database model so I searched for an online-option.

I hope it is readable.

With kind regards
    Attached Files Attached Files

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    looks OK in principle

note that Type, Field and Year are reserved words and should not be used for table and field names. Would also avoid having spaces in those names as well - use the caption property if required.

Would also consider you probably don't need the Year table anyway, just store the year

With regards the lookup tables - country, field etc where basically all you have is a description and a pk, although this fits the normalisation rules I prefer a slightly non normalised arrangement to just store the description as the primary key, but not relate it to the table where it is referenced - so the table stores the description directly without having to look it up - a kind of 'dotted line' relationship.