billmark is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 64bit

Access login

Hi

I've created a login form for the users to login to my program. However, I want to limit only one user at a time (I know MS Access is for multi-users and some suggest using split database which I am not familiar as I am new to access program).

Please advise if it is possible and how:
    1.when the program is in use and another user tries to login by clicking the icon, then the login form prompts the message 'User - name of the user is in use'
    2.Exit the program.

Thanks.

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    What, if any, data are you storing from the login form?
    Is there at least one field in a login record that cannot be Null, thus reliably indicates someone has logged in, AND the record is removed upon exit?
    If so, all you need to do if limiting to one user is DCount that field in that table and close the db if it returns a value.
    HOWEVER, if an abnormal shutdown occurs and leaves that record intact, no one is getting in unless you've got the ability to bypass any startup code and manually remove that record, or you allow anyone with a custom setting in their user profile (such as Admin) whereby you can allow Admins in regardless of how many are logged in.

There are other ways, such as looking for the locked db file, but I have found that networks can take a long time to purge these. I've had to get network admins to delete that file even when no one was in the db for quite some time, so I don't consider that foolproof. It's easier to guide you through a logged in count.

There important benefits to splitting a db. You should research and learn how, if not for this project, then in the very near future.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007