Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    AJ7 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2016

How to control data input using checkboxes in Forms

HI there,Let me say from the very beginning that I am a beginner user in Access 2016.

In the form that I've created, I would like my user tick a checkbox to have another checkbox appear for them to tick (ie, if they don't tick the first check box, then the second checkbox would not appear on the form. Basically, I would like to help my user enter the information that is relevant.

Any help would be much appreciated.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Using VBA code, it is possible to adjust the value of the .Visible property of controls. Additionally, where multiple choice is an option, there is something called an Option Group. The wizard can help you create multiple Radio Buttons that belong to the same Option Group.

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    AJ7,

You have identified a very specific method for data entry. This what I would call a HOW. That is, How to do something and there may be options/alternatives. Quite often, instead of starting with a Form, if you create a description of what your proposed database/application is trying to accomplish in plain English, you can identify the tables involved and the relationships between them. Also, it helps readers (and you) in understanding the overall requirements and puts your "HOW" questions into context.

Anyway, there are many ways to "skin the cat", just thought I'd refresh some general thoughts.

Good luck with your project.

AJ7 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by ItsMe View Post