nickmit11 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Question Searching for the next record based on a text box value in a form (VBA)

I am trying to set up a search bar that takes the value from my textbox and jumps from one matching record, to the next record, and so on. The data that I am using repeats numbers, not a lot of them but enough to make it relevant. So far I have been able to build a code that when I enter my number in a textbox and then click a command button, it jumps to the first instance that this number is found in my data and displays it on the form. I have not been able to get it to then jump to the NEXT instance of this number. I am not a great coder and I have been playing around with it, but my code that is currently able to find the first record is listed below, any help would be greatly appreciated!!

[code]
    Private Sub cmdSearch_Click()
    Dim strLocationRef As String
    Dim strSearch As String

'Check txtcmdSearch for Null value or Nill Entry first.

If IsNull(Me![txtSearch]) Or (Me![txtSearch]) = "" Then
    MsgBox "Please enter a value!", vbOKOnly, "Invalid Search Criterion!"
    Me![txtSearch].SetFocus
    Exit Sub
    End If
    '-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Performs the search using value entered into cmdSearch
    'and evaluates this against values in Loc

DoCmd.ShowAllRecords
    DoCmd.GoToControl ("Loc")
    DoCmd.FindRecord Me!txtSearch

Loc.SetFocus
    strLocationRef = Loc.Text
    txtSearch.SetFocus
    strSearch = txtSearch.Text

'If matching record found sets focus in Loc

If strLocationRef = strSearch Then
    Loc.SetFocus

'If value not found sets focus back to cmdSearch and shows msgbox
    Else
    MsgBox "Match Not Found For: " & strSearch & " -Please Try Again.", _
    , "Invalid Search Criterion!"
    txtSearch.SetFocus
    End If

End Sub
    [code]

Thanks Again!

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007