droop is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Same field getting updated multiple times

Hello,

I am new to access. I will simplify my question to a smaller table.

In Table1 a field needs to be updated if the associating fields are also found in another table. In Table1 there is one line for

USER_ID, TYPE, IN_SCOPE.

I need to update the IN_SCOPE field to "Yes" if that USER_ID and TYPE field is found in the Table2. The issue that I am having is that the field is getting updated more than once. I believe that this is caused by the USER_ID and TYPE match being in table 2 more than once.

How can I avoid this from updating more than one time?

Thanks for the help.

Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Still not clear on what you are asking. If there are 2 records in Table2 with the same UserID, Type and Scope, how do you know which one should update Table1? Sounds like you have 2 tables with the same information. Why do you have to have Table1?

droop is offline Novice
    Table 2 contains records for the USER_ID and TYPE. Say there's another field on Table2 there might be one row that says he has 6 cats, and another row that says 7 dogs. Table1 has a list of all the USER_IDs and TYPEs. Table1 is already populated. If the same USER_ID and TYPE match is in Table2. I need to update the in scope field in table1.

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Sounds like you have 2 tables with the same information. There is nothing unusual about this because it's often how tables are related (e.g. PO_Number showing in tblPO as well as PO_Notes).
    Not sure what you mean by
    The issue that I am having is that the field is getting updated more than once.