Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    P5C768 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    95

    AfterUpdate not updating

    I have two fields that I am trying to have recalculated any time one or more of three text boxes are updated. Two of the text boxes are numeric and are working correctly. The third is text and does not seem to update. Any reason why? I have tried throwing in a refresh statement as well, with no success.

    Private Sub txtPamt1_AfterUpdate()
    Run "calc_IntCom1"


    Run "calc_RnwCom1"
    End Sub
    Private Sub txtSA1_AfterUpdate()
    Run "calc_IntCom1"
    Run "calc_RnwCom1"
    End Sub
    Private Sub txtInt1_AfterUpdate()
    Run "calc_IntCom1"
    End Sub
    Private Sub txtRnw1_AfterUpdate()
    Run "calc_RnwCom1"
    End Sub

  2. #2
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    Put in a MsgBox to see if it is running. What does the "Run" command do? Is that like "Call".

  3. #3
    Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    875
    Errrr. . .

    Ignore this post. I'm stoopid! >.<
    Last edited by Rawb; 06-10-2010 at 11:19 AM. Reason: Maybe if I read the OP completely before posting. . .

  4. #4
    P5C768 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    95
    msgbox to check is the referenced macro is running? I know the macro is running, based on the other two afterupdate events.

    I think call and run are the same thing. I learned run from Excel. Changing to call didn't seem to do anything different.

  5. #5
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    VBA in Excel and VBA in Access are not necessarily the same.

  6. #6
    RuralGuy's Avatar
    RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains
    Posts
    12,922
    If you know it is running then what is not working?

  7. #7
    Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    875
    Maybe if you could post the calculations from the Macros we could take a look at them?

    Most likely it's a problem in the Macro for the text field that's causing this.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Combobox not updating
    By lostfan789 in forum Forms
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-16-2010, 09:21 PM
  2. Updating a field
    By JohnBoy in forum Programming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 08:43 AM
  3. FE & BE Updating
    By mastromb in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 11:55 AM
  4. Updating a Combo Box
    By DaughanP in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-04-2009, 08:52 AM
  5. BeforeUpdate and AfterUpdate Question
    By gsurfdude in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 07:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums