kvollene is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013 32bit

Normalization for large amount of data

I am creating a large database for my department that will contain the information on students in 3 different majors. I am new at using Access but am learning quickly. I previously created the whole database only to find out that it did not function. I was told my a different forum that I did not normalize my data and needed to start over. Before I get any further into creating the form for my database I need to know if I am on the right track and have broken down my data far enough or if I need to "normalize" it more.

I have attached a word doc that shows screen shots of all of my tables and the form that I have started, which I am not 100% sure I am doing right either.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thank you
    Kristin

kvollene - 2016Database chart.zip

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    I suggest you research Normalization and work through a tutorial or two.
    Here are 2 tutorials from RogersAccessLibrary that--if you work through the tutorial - you will learn about Normaliztion and table design. You will learn about relationships and the value of a complete description of the "business" and a data model. You have to work through them, but you will experience a procedure that can be used with any database. Each tutorial will take 30 - 60 minutes.

StudentInfo tutorial
    CateringBusiness tutorial

Just a couple of comments on your attached document.

It appears that you have given a good effort. However, it seems to be overdone and perhaps too detailed. I don't know if you built a data model, or if you have a solid description(set of requirements) of the "business" involved. You can build the data model with pencil and paper, and test it with some sample test data.