Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    TheOakster is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Thumbs up Setting Up Brand New Database - Absolute Beginner. Struggling with the basics.

Good afternoon,

Having googled all morning trying to find the answers that I've been looking for, and not really understanding any of it, I figured that it was time to join a forum to get some proper answers relevant to my situation.

I am trying to replace my paperbased system with a database solution.
    I run a cattery and I think that I am looking to build (no specific time limit - it will take as long as it takes) the following database (please excuse any wrong terminology, and feel free to correct as appropriate):

A start up form with 3 buttons.

The first button will bring up a Booking In form that will have a drop down combobox of client names (humans).
    When the name is selected, the form will auto-populate the various text boxes that show the clients' full contact details, emergency contact details and marketing details. It will also auto-populate that persons cat details, for as many cats as they have, including previous food preferences and details such as microchip etc.
    These fields can be updated to reflect any changes since the last booking.
    When the new booking dates are added, they will add to a history of booking details, rather than updating the previous ones.
    The from can be printed for signing.

The second button will open a form that allows the cat details to be updated by staff after they have been booked in such as new weight and so on. This will allow the staff to see the history of the cat including previous weights, behaviours, food preferences and so on.

The third button will open a form that allows for the client stats to be seen by staff such as all previous bookings, amount spent over time, number of bookings per year, average length of stay etc.

I think I need 3 tables. Cat details. Client Details. Booking Details.