lowells is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013 64bit

Saving Listbox selection to table on next record action

I will preface this question by saying I am new to Access VBA though I am quite experienced with Excel VBA.

I have added a listbox to the main form. The user can select multiple names from the list box. I have a sub that forms a comma delimited string of the selection(s) and saves directly to a table to which the form is bound. I call this sub when the form is closed and unloaded and it works just fine (code is listed below).

The problem is that if the user clicks for the next record instead of closing the form, the value is not saved to the table. I have tried adding a call to the save sub from the listbox's AfterUpdate event (and several other listbox events) but it doesn't work properly. The field in the table is empty instead of containing the selected values. Also, I get "Write Error Another user has modified the record...", I assume that is because a second attempt is being made to save the selection because I am calling the save sub too many times. How can I make this work? Thanks.

Code:
    Public Sub SaveSelectedResponsibility()

Dim db As DAO.Database
        Dim qdf As DAO.QueryDef
        Dim varItem As Variant
        Dim strCriteria As String
        Dim strSQL As String

Set db = CurrentDb()                                                            'set a pointer to the database
        Set qdf = db.QueryDefs("qryMultiSelect")                                        'set a pointer to the query

For Each varItem In Me!LBResponsibility.ItemsSelected                           'loop on all selected items
           strCriteria = strCriteria & "," & Me!LBResponsibility.ItemData(varItem)      'build a string of all the selected entries
        Next varItem
        If Len(strCriteria) = 0 Then Exit Sub                                           'check to see that at least one entry was selected