Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    fetster is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Conditional Function in a query

I'm new to access and have a question please.

I have a table EZExtract with a few fields, some of which:
    ItemID
    DatePaidDate
    DateofBirth

I want to replicate the whole table amending the ItemID fields based on the following conditions:
    If ItemID = 2
    Then
    Work out the age in Months (would be something along the lines of DateofBirth - DatePaidDate / 12)
    Then
    If Age in Months < 6 ItemID = EZ1000

If Age in Months Between 7 and 12 ItemID =EZ1001
    If Age in Months Between 13 and 36 ItemID =EZ1002
    If Age in Months Between 37 and 132 ItemID =EZ1003
    If Age in Months >133 ItemID =EZ1004

Any idea how I can do this please (again, i'm new to access).

Thanks for taking the time to read my question.

davegri is online now Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Need more info and things to think about

This appears to be a one time effort. After all the records with ItemID = 2 are updated, there are no more records with ItemID=2 in table EZExtract (if we update EZExtract).

Do you really need to create a new table just like EZExtract with just the ItemID fields different? This might be a design issue unless there is a valid business reason to do so. Duplicated values in different tables leads to data inconsistency over time.

What needs to happen if new records are added to EZExtract in the future with ItemID = 2? Is this imported data or data entered via a form?

Have you taken into consideration that in the future there might be more than one payment made, resulting in two (or more) DatePaidDate?

Hi Davegri, thanks for taking the time to reply - I appreciate it.

I don't need to create a new table as such just need the ItemID fields which are = 2 to be changed to the new ItemIDs, all ItemID's that are other numbers remain the same.