Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ruiter is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

paste excel column data into query?

I would like to copy and paste the data from an excel column into a column in my Access query. When I try to do this it takes all the data and tries to put it into one field. I know how to paste into a regular table but it doesn't seem to work for a query.

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    If their are multiple records in your Access query and Excel data, how are you ensuring that the correct values got to the correct records?
    Can you explain in a bit more detail exactly what you are trying to populate (there are probably better ways of doing it)?

ruiter is offline Novice
    Hi Joe, thanks for responding! First let me say I am not trained in Access, only self-taught to the point of (usually) being able to get done what I need. So be patient Here's my dilemma more specifically: my database contains information about music recordings, and the items (album label number) on which those recordings have been used. Frequently I get long lists of requests in excel format asking for information per album (label number) . Instead of my retyping each album number from those Excel inquiries into my Access query column, I'd like to just be able to copy the Excel column in the original request and paste it into my query under the album number field column. I would be so grateful if you help me with this!

JoeM is offline VIP
    So, is there some field in both the Access query and Excel table that the data "matches" up on (i.e. some ID field)?
    If so, you can simply import or link the Excel file into a new Access table, and then do an Update Query between this new table and your original Access table/query.

ruiter is offline Novice
    Yes, there is. I have never used Update Query, I will play around with it and hopefully have some success. If not, I will write back. Thanks again!

JoeM is offline VIP