jimbo1283 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Searching for Data

Hi everyone.

I'm completely new to Access and have no previous experience, so apologies for any daft questions or for my complete lack of understanding.

I'm creating a database using the services template in access 2010. I'm looking to be able to quote products for customers and track these quotes. I've managed to get my self through most of this and have changed the basic template quite a bit to fit in with what I need it to do. I'm struggling a little when it comes to the products though.

At present we have something close to 900 products. The quote form on the template lets you select the item by product code and then fills in the details on the rest of the form. It allows you to search by product ID and lists the description to the side. As per below
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Quote Screen.png 
Views:	28 
Size:	108.6 KB 
ID:	24356

What I'm trying to do is get it to search by either the item code or by the default description and then populate as before.

If it helps, this is the text that I found in the property sheet under row source,

SELECT ProductLineItemCodes.ID, ProductLineItemCodes.LineItemCode, ProductLineItemCodes.DefaultDescription FROM ProductLineItemCodes WHERE (((ProductLineItemCodes.LineItemCode)=[LineItemCode])) OR (((ProductLineItemCodes.LineItemCode)=[DefaultDescription]));

Name:	Quote System 2.png 
Views:	28 
Size:	240.8 KB 
ID:	24357

Can anyone point me in the right direction of how I can do this. Please bear in mind my complete lack of knowledge.

Thanks in advance

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007