600720544 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Unhappy Best method for design of database with multiple value in one field

I'm new to database design, I have an issue with a stock database. I'm at the design stage and was wondering what is the best way for the following example. I have a table of products, which has a style code then description, and colour. straight forward so far. I then wanted to add size. Here's the question, does every variation of the style need it own entry in the database I.e.

line 1 style abcde, Description Shirt, colour Blue
    line 2 style abcde, Description Shirt, colour black
    line 3 style abcde, Description Shirt, colour White

which would result in a huge amount of repeated data. Moving on I will need to add Size which will duplicate even more.

if you have 30 styles in 5 colours and 10 sizes that's 1500 lines. that's a lot in imputing for each style.

I have tried the "allow multiple values" in table design lookup but can't seem to follow that a white shirt may have 5 sizes but the blue only has 2.
    I am just looking for a bit of basic advice

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    no, youd have
    tSize table
    tStyle table
    tColor table

then the order would put them together
    user would pick from each of the lists to assemble a shirt.

tOrder
    OrderNum, Size,Style,Color,Other

(once picked, youd check to see if BLUE shirts have any size 14, in stock)

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    plus , to create inventory, you don't have to input the data by hand 1 at a time,
    making one query of all the tables: size,style,color, and NOT joining them, will multiply the values.
    youd get a shirt of every color, every size, every style.