x596201060405 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Dates w/o Data

Hello. I'm a total Access newbie, and I'm currently just forcing myself to learn all of this stuff. I'm having a peculiar problem.

I have a range of invoices, generated on dates, given different customers.
    Some dates have no information.

So when I tried to view a query in chart mode, everything looks great, except one thing. Right now, I have a chart that will depict the sum of invs per month on a chart, and it has a filter so that I can look at the same information for specific clients.

But, the problem begins here. If my customer has ordered routinely, than all dates will show. However, say one customer didn't order for a whole quarter, than the X axis skips the dates that aren't present in the data, once the filter is applied.

So, I went to make table graph with all dates as a starting point. I ran a query and combined the information in such a way that it was now show me all invoices and for dates where no invoices, one record is created with nulls in all spaces except the dates. Then, I have the query turn all null spaces into zero dollars (for the invoice).

So, it looks something like this now.

3/13 - $300.00
    3/14 - $900.00
    3/15 - $0.0
    3/16 - $200.00

So, it basically works when you take into account all of the invoices, including the blank ones. If I search all customers, and look at each individual day, it works in the sense that the weekends are now all zero. However, since the records with the missing datas have no customer data, then whenever I apply a filter for a customer, the data points for the dates with no date disapper, meaning all the sudden the reserved spots on my graphs for the weekend disappears again.