Sleepy81 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Question Newbie, specific tables and form design question.

Hi!

I am new to Access, but have a very specific problem for a database I am trying to create for work.

I was hoping maybe somebody here could spare a few minutes to look at it and come up with some ideas or feedback for me to solve these problems...

Since the data itself is confidential, I have elected to substitute the data with dummy data.

I have two problems that I cannot figure out:

First, the Database.
    I have some problems on how to design this database, and I am not sure if I have done it correctly or if it is a better way to do it.
    See attached picture, and i will explain each field below:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Skjermbilde 2016-02-13 21.43.02.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	23665

System ID: Autonumber

Computer System: Name of Computer System in Short Text

Program Name: Each Computer System can have one or more programs, called Program Name.

Sub Prog A/B/C:
    Each Program Name has one or more Sub Programs.
    A Program Name will always have at least one Sub Prog, but it might not always be Sub Prog A. I.E: A Program Name might have a blank Sub Prog A, and a value in Sub Prog B and C, or blank in A and C, and a value for B, etc. etc. It can also have a value in all Sub Programs. (A, B and C)

Now here is the root cause of the main problem I have:
    The value of the Sub Programs are not unique to the Program name. It is however unique to the combination of Program Name and Computer System.

So as shown, Space Invaders has Sub Prog A: Ver A, Sub Prog B: Ver B when it is used on the Atari system.
    But, Space Invaders has Sub Prog A: Ver A, Sub Prog B: Ver A if it is on the C64 system.

Ideally, I would like to have a separate table for Computer System, and another table for Program Name and Sub Programs.