Mario P. is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Template for simple client & product database

I'm new to Access and hope that some experts can point me to mostly or completely designed database that I can implement into my small, one man shop.

All I need is:
    1. routine client fields (really only a name. Other fields would be nice, but already have them in QuickBooks).
    2. product database.

I currently use Excel, and it works well (separate file for each of 10-15 clients), but would like to combine all into single database.
    I have a company requires that I keep track of their products and while I can do search within my client folder, a single database would be nicer.

The only issue I ran into with Excel, is that since I have single row for product, say a computer, multiple username/password tracking gets ugly. I can either duplicate all information (location, item description, IP address, serial number, etc.) just so I can create separate entries for username/password, or create separate columns for all products sold/installed, for the few items that have multiple username passwords. Alternatively, I could use a notes cell and cram all the user/pass information there.

Here is a CSV of my column header:
    Date Installed,Date Purchased,Vendor,MFG,Model #,Version,Location,Price,Warranty duration,Serial #,Item,IP Address,Mac Address,Username,Password,Date Verified,Notes,

Thank you for your time,

Mario

Ideally, I would like to have a process (form) where upon ordering stock item(s) I could type:
    - Order date
    - Order number
    - Vendor
    - Item(s) (separate entry for each item or quantity entry here?)
    - Description
    - Serial #
    - Warranty duration
    - (maybe location, van or storage shelf)

When I install the item at client's house:
    - Select (or create) client's name