MacAcc is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013

Question linking table to excel but no way to get primary key

Hi, I am new to Access and have the following problem.

I am creating a db for financial instruments. I have created a table in Access for each security. Now I need to feed the securities with real time information on prices. The way a tried to do this is with a linked Excel spreadsheet because my bloomberg is able to update prices in Excel. It works fine, each time the prices changes in exel the linked table in Access is automatically updated (after close and reopen of course). The problema I face though is that on the linked table (which initially was imported from Excel) I am unable to set a primary key (Access is saying I can not modify linked tables in Access). But since there is no primary key, I can not use the feature of relating the linked table to other tables and the whole thing is useless.

Am I doing something wrong or if not is there a work around?

Thanks for help

Markus

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    what do you need as primary key? The ticker is unique, so you don't NEED to key it.
    You should be able to query on the ticker field and join to any internal access tables to perform queries w/o key.

ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    I have created a table in Access for each security.
    Does this mean that if you have 5 securities, you have 5 tables? If the tables have the same structure for each of the securities, I would have 1 tables with an additional field for the security. Much easier to create forms and reports. And to add new securities.

If you truly have linked tables (tables in a different accdb - ie the BE), you need to modify the tables in the BE, not the FE.

I am also curious as to why you can get the securities data in Excel but not in Access.

And welcome to the forum....

MacAcc is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013