tim.cassey is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Import from external form to master database table

Hi there,

I have a master access database in use in the office, which has been split so that users can have their own front-end which then updates the separate back-end (allowing multiple user to enter data at the same time essentially).

What I now have is a situation where we have some people out of the office (in the field) who need to be able to use an external form (a new database with one form in it) to check some boxes associated with a serial number... then they would email this to the office, where the data could be imported to update a table in the master (to show whether certain serial numbers now had boxes checked).

The people in the field don't always have internet / any connection to the back-end back in the office, which was the reasoning behind the emailing.

Is something like this possible, and how would I go about it?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    it is possible but needs careful consideration

if the nature of what the field users are doing is just updating existing records which they have copied from the office master db before leaving, you can have a simple routine for access to export a text file of the updated records and email to the office. And in the office you would have a routine to parse through emails and update the master record with the changes.

if the users are always in the field they will need updates for new records, you can have a similar routine in reverse.