tgall is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

How can I import ColumnHistory into a new Access shell?

My group is using Microsoft's Call Details template. The template corrupted, so we downloaded a fresh template and imported the database objects. Voilą! No more anomalies. However, the Comments history (data type = Memo; Append Only = Yes) did not immigrate. How can I import the ColumnHistory?

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    I have never used ColumnHistory before so I had to look it up. It seems this data would be stored in the System tables and if it is, it will be in your old broken database file.

How are your retrieving the ColumnHistory? Are you using VBA code?

Hi, "ItsMe"
    Not sure what you mean by "retrieving ColumnHistory", so I'll answer a couple of ways:
    -- If you're referring to a working database, I "see" the history in a History field on a form.
    The History field's control source is a lovely {said with tongue in cheek) piece of function code: =ColumnHistory([RecordSource],"Comments","[ID]=" & Nz([ID],0)).
    I cannot enter data into the History field. Nor can I modify data in the History field.
    The "mother" field is Comments, which is a memo field in a table.
    The scenario is: I enter commentA in the Comments field on the form; commentA appears in both the Comments field and the History field. I close the record.
    When I open the record again and enter commentB in the Comments field, it wipes out commentA in the Comments field, but commentA still appears in the History field.
    I can only retrieve the last comment entered via the Comments field in the table. I cannot retrieve the previous comments.
    -- If you're referring to how I'm trying to import the data, I'm using the good ol' Import and Link functions in the External Data tab.

If I could find the table where the history comments were stored, I could import it.

Windows 8 Access 2013