ManuelLavesa is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Question How to program different printing options depending on content of Sale Order

Hello all,
    I am new at programming with Access 2013. I have been using as a base the Northwind Database. In this database when you make a sales order all the items keep the same OrderID number. And when you invoice all the items are included in the invoice. Now I want to make some items with a discount and ideally be able to print an invoice with the discount column included. I made a button on the form and on the click event I placed the following code:

If Disc > 0 then
    DoCmd.OpenReport "ReportDiscount", acViewPreview

Else
    DoCmd.OpenReport "Print Invoice",acViewPreview

Also I made two different reports One is ReportDiscount which contains the discount column and the other Invoice.

This works as long as the last item ordered had a discount, but it doesn't work when the last item has no discount even though the order includes items with a discount. Is there a way of programming this so that it recognizes when the order contains discounted items, no matter where they are placed? Thank you for your help

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Maybe use domain aggregate function on the table with the discount field.

If DSum("Discount", "tablename", "OrderID=" & Me.OrderID)=0 Then
    'invoice
    Else
    'discount
    End If
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thank you for your fast response. I tried what you suggested and the result is that DSum does not seem to be =0. I mean Always the Else statement gets the response but not the Dsum statement. What could be going wrong. This is what I wrote

Private Sub Printing_Click()
    If DSum("Discount", "OrderDetails", "OrderID=" & Me.OrderID) = 0 Then