Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    skydiver4 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7

    Start Up Options

    Hello,

    I have a .mde file where I can double-click on a label on the log-in form that allows me to enable/disable the bypass key. Currently, the bypass key is disabled. The problem I am having is the back-end database in on a network server and the IT Department installed a new server with a different name. Now when I open the front-end database I am receiving an error stating the back-end database is not a valid path. Once I acknowledge the error I have to stop all Macros. I cannot get to the log on screen to enable the bypass key so I can use the link table manager to re-link the tables. As I learn from my mistakes, the problem here is that the tables are linked to the physical path of the server and not the relative path (dumb on my part).

    Is there anyway to get around this so I can enable the bypass key or delete the linked tables somehow?



    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Maybe go back to the mdb file and edit table links then republish the mde.

    I've never used an mde or accde file. I did not know the shift bypass worked with those.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    skydiver4 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7
    After a couple hours of research I was able to find a way to set the AllowByPass Key property to True from a different database.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Do you want to share that for other readers?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    skydiver4 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7
    I used the following code on a button click event. It was actually a lot easier than I thought. I was trying to make a lot more out of it that what there was.

    Private Sub btnBypassToTrue_Click()
    Dim db As DAO.Database


    Set db = OpenDatabase("C:\PATH TO DATABASE")
    db.Properties!AllowBypassKey = True


    Set db = Nothing


    End Sub

  6. #6
    amrut is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    614
    Here is a link to very good utility to do this kind of stuff
    http://www.thatlldoit.com/pages/utilsaddins.aspx

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. yes or no options
    By madhu in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 07:31 AM
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-06-2012, 02:23 PM
  3. one form with 3 options
    By Compufreak in forum Forms
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 05:57 AM
  4. One form with 3 different options
    By Compufreak in forum Access
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 07:47 AM
  5. Grouping Options
    By Desstro in forum Queries
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 06:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums