Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15

    Restricting user to view specific record after logging in to login form.

    Hello Experts,
    i am currently developing a database what i need to do is to restrict user to view selected record and change them. i have build a login form in which i have two areas as a user name in combobox and a password text box. i have another form in which i have a combo box named area what i need to do is to limit the area based on the selection of the user login form previously. for example if a user select LAS VEGAS in user combo and enters its password after clicking the button login the another form appears in which thier respective stores and sales are saved, their is a combo box named cboarea in which i want to limit it by LAS VEGAS i mean it would only show LAS VEGAS in drop down based on the previous selection in login form.
    PLEASEEEEE HELP ME I AM IN A BIG TROUBLE and i am new to access.


    ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    You may some ideas from some free youtube videos
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQk9yC0Y6Pc user level access
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpMyGlEInGs cascading combo

    Other info re: restricting records
    http://www.baldyweb.com/wherecondition.htm
    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    thanks for your suggestion it helps me a little bit. just tell me THE CODE TO LINK THE CASCADE COMBO ON DOCMD.OPENFORM.
    My second combo is on the form which i am opening through a docmd function. just tell me the whole code to link the the combo in second form based on my present form.
    Thanks .

  4. #4
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    ....just tell me the whole code to link the the combo in second form based on my present form.
    Readers can't give you focused responses if they don't know your setup and requirements.
    If you're having trouble with Cascading combos -- use Google or Bing and do some research.
    Here's more on cascading combos http://www.baldyweb.com/CascadingCombo.htm


    If you want more detailed responses, then tell readers about your application. Give the 30,000 foot overview in plain English. There may be options for doing what you are trying to achieve.

  5. #5
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    Dear Expert,
    i just want to cascade two combo boxes based on two different forms i.e a user combo with another form's combo named area, i have made a table login in which i have three users of different areas i have made a form based on that table. what i want is when a user of an area named California choose from a username combo, enters his password & press login button then a form will be opened and when he clicks on the combo of area on that form which is being opened after pressing the login button then he would only see the California in the dropdown combo of area .

    please help me i am stuck at this.

    Thanks in advance i shall be very thankful to you.

  6. #6
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716

  7. #7
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    i want to cascade them and the problem is this that one combo is in "FORM A" and second one is in "FORM B" i want to set rowsource on 2nd combo via VBA which is not located in "FormA" so my question is that how would i write the code??? please help me

  8. #8
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    You will have to give examples more specific to your set up and issue.
    These links are for traditional cascading combo. Perhaps your situation requires something different.
    Tell or give us an example of the issue and your desired output.

  9. #9
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    so you want me to upload the database for you???

  10. #10
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    PLEASE CHECK THIS EXAMPLE i want to limit the user selection in login form based on city combo in STORES ENTRY FORM after pressing the data entry button.


    please help me i am in a big trouble
    THANKS IN ADVANCE.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716
    Please describe what the flow should be in step form.

    When I select a name and enter an invalid password, it tells me so ---good.
    When I select a name and enter an valid password, it just stops???

    If I click on the Data Entry button it opens the City form???


    I adjusted the code as below to get it to open the City form on the acceptance of username and password being OK.

    Code:
         'Close logon form and open splash screen
      Me.GOTO_DATA_ENTRY.Enabled = True
      DoCmd.Close acForm, "LOGIN STORE SALES DATA ENTRY", acSaveNo
      Call GOTO_DATA_ENTRY_Click
    But I am just guessing at what you expect/are trying to do.

    Be specific, what do you want to happen when...

  12. #12
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    when i select a user name, enters a valid password & press login button which enables the data entry button, i want to cascade the username combo and city combo which is in the data entry button.
    I WANT TO ONLY SHOW THAT CITY IN THE CITY COMBO FROM WHICH USERNAME IS SELECTED. I HAVE ALSO MADE BOTH TABLE'S RELATIONSHIP. I JUST WANT THE CODE TO CASCADE BOTH THE COMBOS.

  13. #13
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    Yes u r right after pressing data entry button it opens a city from and i want values to be limited in city combo as per the selection in username combo in login form..

    Please help me.

  14. #14
    Ahsan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    15
    for example u have selected john in user name, enters valid password and pressed login button which enables the data entry button, NOW THE POINT IS THIS THAT WHEN I PRESSED THE DATA ENTRY BUTTON THE FORM WITH THE CITY COMBO WILL BE CASCADED AS PER THE SELECTION IN USERNAME COMBO WHICH IS PLACED IN LOGIN FORM. i want only "ISLAMABAD" in the city drop down which was based on the user selection named "JOHN" sorry for the inconvenience becasuse my english is not so good

  15. #15
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,716

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2015, 12:00 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-22-2014, 11:07 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-09-2013, 08:45 AM
  4. login form and filter to specific record
    By mikael in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 12:02 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2011, 09:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums