LonnieCAR is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Make a field that was numeric alphanumeric. Also, make a "spin" button.

I have a database I have worked on for the sister company of the place I am employed. I have a project that is simply boggling my mind (I’m a novice Access user). I have a field I am trying to make alphanumeric that has been numeric. (“PO Number” on the main form). I had a gentleman on this forum help me make it alphanumeric a couple of months ago, but it disabled the “Edit Customer Information” button on the bottom right of the form to where I can’t enter shipping addresses and things like that. It should be able to enter multiple shipping addresses. I need help making the PO Number field button alphanumeric and making sure it doesn’t mess-up the Edit Customer Information button. I have attached both versions of my database. The GM at the sister company would also like me to create a “Spin” button where you can take an old record and keep all of the previous information on it, except it gives it a new Work Order# and you can change the date to something newer. This is something I also can’t wrap my mind around. Any help here would be much appreciated. Thank you dearly.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Hi LonnieCar,

Go into your Orders table and change the field type for the PO Number to Short text. I have done it in your sample and the modify customer button still works fine. No reason it shouldn't. I will give some thought to your other half of your question.

LonnieCAR is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Thank you Gina. Gee, that was easy. I never thought to use that option because it said "text" in its title. Please see what you can do for my second issue. I am literally driving myself nuts trying to figure it out. ;P

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003