Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    cohnhead is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Student Pre-Test and Post Test Skills Tracking Question

Hi,

I am not new to Access, but by no means an expert. I am a middle school teacher and I am trying to design a database that will keep track of student pre-test and post-test skills data.

Here is an example of what I am tracking:
    Student A takes a pre-test in August (I don't need the score) which measures mastery of a group of skills.
    Compare and Contrast - mastered
    Venn Diagrams - mastered
    Analogies - not mastered
    Research - not mastered
    Prefixes - not tested

Student A takes a post-test in October (no score needed) which measures mastery on the same set of skills
    Compare and Contrast - mastered
    Venn Diagrams - mastered
    Analogies - mastered
    Research - still not mastered
    Prefixes - not tested

I want to be able to enter this information in the database based on the test results. I would also like to be able to see the improvement in a report. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Your options are:

1. one big flat file table - this is one record for each student with a field for each before test and each after test

2. normalized data structure with at least two tables - one for basic student info and one for the test results - results table would have a record for each student for each test with fields for before and after results
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Your options are:

1. one big flat file table - this is one record for each student with a field for each before test and each after test