Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22

    Pole Display

    I created an Access database POS program (to be used with Access Run-Time) and attached a pole display (EMax). I downloaded the OPOS driver and it generates the test message on the pole display, so I know the pole display works. I put the following vba event code on the home page form:



    Private Sub Form_Load()
    MSComm1.CommPort = 1
    ' set port number
    MSComm1.Settings = "9600,N,8,1"
    MSComm1.InputLen = 0
    'opens the port
    On Error Resume Next
    MSComm1.PortOpen = True
    MSComm1.Output = "Welcome"
    ' set pole message
    MSComm1.PortOpen = False
    End Sub

    I get Run-time error 424 Object required.


    1. I have no Com or Active-X Add-Ins: Do I need them for this to run properly & If so what/where????
    2. As you can tell I don't really understand MSComm and how I can get the serial Com 1 port to interact with the Access database.
    3. Once I get a general message to appear on the pole display I want to be able to have it display the item & price as entered on the OrderDetail Form and then the Total Due; Payment and Change Due from the Payment form.
    4. I have seen a PoleDisplay Module, while searching for answers but I don't really know what to do with it:

    Option Compare Database
    Global Const constPD_VerticalScrollMode As Integer = 18
    Global Const constPD_NormalDisplayMode As Integer = 17
    Global Const constPD_BrightnessControl As Integer = 4
    Global Const constPD_BackSpace As Integer = 8
    Global Const constPD_HorizontalTab As Integer = 9
    Global Const constPD_LineFeed As Integer = 10
    Global Const constPD_CarriageReturn As Integer = 13
    Global Const constPD_DigitSelect As Integer = 16
    Global Const constPD_CursorON As Integer = 19
    Global Const constPD_CursorOFF As Integer = 20
    Global Const constPD_Reset As Integer = 31
    Global Const constPD_MessageScroll_Start As String = "&H05"
    Global Const PD_MessageScroll_Stop As String = "&H0D"


    Any guidance in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    You downloaded, installed, registered the MSCOMM32.OCX Active X library dll?

    It's old but here is one user's experience http://www.excelforum.com/excel-prog...al-device.html

    Search web for more.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    Thank you. Is that for Excel only? I am working in Access.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    It's VBA coding. Library reference is still pertinent.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    Unfortunately this link no longer exists: http://www.yes-tele.com/mscomm.html and when I go to Microsoft's download site I can not find MSCOMM32.OCX. Also is the 32 for 32 bit? if so I would need 64 bit...????

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    I knew the link didn't work. That wasn't why I posted that thread. You are trying something I have no experience with although thought I might have to. So did some searching a while ago. Hit this one http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/serialport.htm. Yes, 32 means 32-bit. I don't know if you will find 64-bit solution.

    64-bit is giving me fits. I just had to go run a database from 32-bit machine because code would not work on 64-bit. Apparently ADO Jet 4 connection won't work.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    I found the download using: www.nodevice.com. I will look at your other links tomorrow. Thank You!

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    Interesting, McAfee blocked that site as bad reputation. Our IT department has rather stringent filters but that is the first such warning I've ever run into.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    Apparently Microsoft no longer uses mscomm32. There is a lot of information [vba module and sample code] at this site http://www.thescarms.com/vbasic/commio.aspx to use Windows API calls to control the serial port instead. I have imported the module. I have placed the sample code on my Home Form as an event (Form Load). What do I need to change to make it work with a pole display (com) and my database? How/Where do I call the communication functions contained in the module and put the coding?

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    Not sure. I am guessing have the procedures to set the com port run when a form opens. Then maybe the CommWrite procedure would be called with a button Click event or textbox AfterUpdate event.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  11. #11
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    I have got the pole display working however I can't clear it. This is what I have so far that works:

    Private Sub Form_Load()

    Open "Com1" For Output As #1
    Write #1, "Welcome"
    Close #1

    End Sub

    The Pole Display manual has the following information:
    Clear to End of Display ASCII = <RS>; DEC = 30 and HEX = 1E

    What Access vba coding do I need to make that work?

  12. #12
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    This might require SendKeys. I use:

    SendKeys "{ESC}", True

    So maybe:

    SendKeys "{RS}", True

    Well, that errors in the VBA immediate window.

    Bing: VBA clear pole display screen

    The is the closest I could find http://forums.codeguru.com/showthrea...display-screen
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  13. #13
    nhdee is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    22
    Unfortunately Send Keys makes my display have a weird character appear across the display screen. I had found that link before as well, not helpful, but thanks.

  14. #14
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,895
    A quick fix until you find better might be just to write a bunch of blank lines to the display until the text scrolls off.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Display top 25 %
    By Faisal Mobin in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2012, 05:14 AM
  2. Getting a map to display
    By cggriggs in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 06:43 PM
  3. Display changes within a database
    By amcalabrese in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2011, 08:34 AM
  4. Data Display Help
    By FadingAPE in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 04:51 AM
  5. Report control of a field display/no display
    By systems013 in forum Reports
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 09:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums