kchadek is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Need Help Printing Labels for a Specified Record

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and relatively new to Access (all self-taught as I go). Hopefully you guys can help out with this one.

I am looking to set up a database where I have a table of records that correspond labels to product numbers. The product numbers may have anywhere from 1 to 30 labels that correspond to them, and I want the user to have a form where they search by a product number and then the labels that correspond to that product number are printed out on an Avery label.

Here is how the main data table will look: (everything is simply arbitrary to illustrate)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Main Data.JPG 
Views:	14 
Size:	24.4 KB 
ID:	17472

For example: If I type in "1111" into the form - the labels that print would be AA, AB, AC, AD, & AE

I know how to set up labels to print using forms, but the only way I can think of this working is by looking up the product number in the table, then copying the row of labels into another table (let's call it "labels to print") and pasting them in a column, then printing to the labels, and clearing the "labels to print" table for the next time.

Is this the correct route to go? If so, how do I go about looking up the product number in the main table and copy them to the "labels to print table".

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    You could have another table with normalized records. Fields would be: ID, ProductNum, Label. There would be multiple records for each ProductNum.

An alternative to another table and to prevent having to do code that writes to a 'temp' table is a UNION query. A UNION manipulates the data into a normalized structure. Use the UNION query like a table (except can't edit data) as source for other queries.