matrim33 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Using Access on a portable device for inventory

Hello. I own a small company and we are starting to move our inventory system off of Excel and on to Access. I'm fairly new to Access and was wondering if somebody might be able to help me.

I want to be able to go to our warehouse and run a custom program to check our inventory. I'd like to do this with Access if possible. Basically I would like to go to the warehouse and start scanning barcodes of the different products. I would like to do this with some barcode scanner/tablet combo (thoughts on what devices I should look at would be welcomed). Once started I would like to just be able to scan everything, if an item isn't in our inventory I would like the program to tell me. And I would like the option to input notes for items. After finishing I would like to have some sort of report that tells me what items were missing, and what items are new and not in inventory yet.

I have a guy who has made custom stuff for Access for me before. I need to give him a solid plan of what I need before he can build it, that is what I am trying to put together now.

Does this sound like something Access can handle fairly easily? Has anybody here used a Microsoft tablet for anything like this, and if so what hardware did you use? Thank you.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Access for inventory is a perfect match. There is even a published template database.

Windows operating system, Access application, bar-code scanner - I haven't done but I know it has been done.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007