sear100 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

NEW PROJECT - Patient List system: help with design of Tables and relationships

I am a doctor and I'm creating a new List system for my Orthopaedic team in hospital. The goal is to create a robust list system which can manage the emergency and elective intake of patients of various consultants.

I'm rebuilding an existing database which I've advanced quite far but realised limitations of due to the fundamental design limitations.

Main tables description of purpose:

tblPatientDatabase: core data about the patient is stored DOB etc

tblPatientEpisode: data pertaining to each patient episode... Patients can have multiple episodes all of which start and stop.... whilst their episode is open they become an active record on the database "active".

tblDailyrecords: for each day a patient is in hospital various data is recorded such as blood tests, clinical progress information, outstanding jobs, and other parameters pertaining to the level of severity of the patient status etc. This data is specific to each patient and specific to each episode.

tblOperations: patients can undergo undergo operations which take place within a given patient episode - I have therefore linked

tblConsultants: each patient must have an assigned consultant for every episode that they have.

tlbTeamInfo: each patient is assigned to a Team - each team works for a specific consultant or consultants however sometimes teams look after patients belonging to consultants were not are not in their team.

tblWard: patients are admitted to specific wards which relate to specific episodes. Obviously each ward will have multiple records of different patients have their "episodes" within the wards... However patients also move between wards during "episodes".