jabadoojr is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit

Compile Error: Expected: list separator or )

Hi All,

I found code online to help me split and export one Access report into several PDFs on a shared drive. The code is entered in the "On Click" event of a button on the report. First, I declared a variable in a Module as Public. Then I put some code on the "On Open" and "On Close" events on the report (just let me know if you'd like to see that code). I'm a novice at VBA, so there may be many errors in the code (please bear with me). The problem seems to be in the SQL aspect of the code. I get the error:

"Compile Error:

Expected: list separator or )"

with the word "cash" (in the code) highlighted. Any help is much appreciated!!! Here is the code:

Private Sub Command43_Click()
    Dim db As DAO.Database
    Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
    Dim qdf As QueryDef

Set db = CurrentDb

Set rst = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset ("SELECT DISTINCT [PARISHUPDATE.FundID] FROM PARISHUPDATE LEFT JOIN OPENPLEDGES ON (PARISHUPDATE.FundID = OPENPLEDGES.FundID) AND (PARISHUPDATE.GiftDate = OPENPLEDGES.GiftDate) AND (PARISHUPDATE.ConstituentID = OPENPLEDGES.ConstituentID) AND (PARISHUPDATE.GiftAmount = OPENPLEDGES.GiftAmount) AND (PARISHUPDATE.PledgeBalance = OPENPLEDGES.PledgeBalance)WHERE ((PARISHUPDATE.GiftType)="cash" Or (PARISHUPDATE.GiftType)="pledge" Or (PARISHUPDATE.GiftType)="stock/property") AND ((PARISHUPDATE.CampaignID)="embrace"));",dbOpenSna pshot)

Do While Not rst.EOF
    strRptFilter = "[FundID] = " & Chr(34) & rst![FundID] & Chr(34)

DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "Commitments", acFormatPDF, "H:\Development\AOB Capital Campaign planning\Stewardship & Cultivation\Parish Update Reports\Report Destination" & "\" & rst.Fields("FundDescription") & Format(Date, "mmddyyyy") & ".pdf"

DoEvents
    rst.MoveNext
    Loop

rst.Close
    Set rst = Nothing
    Set qdf = Nothing
    Set db = Nothing
    End Sub

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows XP Access 2003