coldspring is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Merging Multiple Records Into One value for a specific field

Hi, I am new to Access and am trying to build a database for my work while I am learning it. I have built the basic tables and forms and now need to find a solution to generate a query based on a specific organization rule for the records. To better illustrate my problem, I made a hypothetical database (in the attachmentTest database.zip).

This is a very simple order database composed of three tables: tblOrder, tblOrderDetail, and tblItem (see relationship.jpg). The tblOrder contains two fields, OrderID and CustomerName. The tblItem contains ItemID, ItemName, ItemPrice, as well as a ItemCategory field. Each item in tblItem belongs to a category under the ItemCategory field. For example, apple, orange, banana all belong to Fruit, and beef, pork belong to Meat (see Item table.jpg). The tblOrder and tblItem have a many-to-many relationship joined by tblOrderDetail.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relationship.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	14023Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Item table.jpg 
Size:	74.9 KB 
ID:	14024Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Order form.jpg 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	14025
    (Please note that the [ItemID] field in tblOrderDetail form stores the numeric value from the primary key field [ItemID] in tblItem, but shows the text of the [ItemCategory] field in tblItem through a lookup relationship. The [ItemID] foreign key value itself is hidden in tblOrderDetail, however.)