Hallway903 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit

Please Point Me in Right Direction on Database Design

I am by no means an Access Expert. I have designed one database that I use to keep track of my calibration equipment. I bought several books and can't tell you how many on-line sites I went to. It was alot of trial and error.I have been asked to design a database that would allow 6 or 7 departments to send me their Daily Test Logs. This information would then be complied into a Daily Log Report. An Excel Spreadsheet can log up to 40-50 products daily and keeps track of 6 types of test .. There is a sheet for each product. Could somebody please help me?

Date /Product Type/

5 Type Test - Tests 1 & 2- test Batches

Test 1: Test 2: Test 3: PreProduction Test 4: X-RayDept Test5ept5
    HowManyBatchesPass HowManyBatchesPass, HowManyBatchesPass, NumberUnitsPasses Units Tested HowManyBatchesFails Test A Batches HowManyBatchesFail NumberUnitsFails
    Person 1 Test B Batches Person 1 TotalUnits
    Test Type Test C Batches Total Units

Department Test D Batches
    Test/Retest TotalsInBatch
    TotalInBatch TestTwoTotal
    TotalUnitsTested

There are 40 Products need to keep track of all batch numbers

Batch Sample Result Acc/Fail

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Do you have an example of the test logs (excel files) or is part of your development process to design that excel spreadsheet as well?

Is there a reason your facility couldn't do their data entry directly to avoid the duplication of data?

Someone had a question similar to yours not too long ago on this site but I would not recommend trying to do this through importing excel files unless you control the 'template' they fill out and you refuse to process any tests without the proper version of your excel file. It's going to be very painful for you to do imports without total control of that file.

Test 1: Test 2: Test 3: PreProduction Test 4: X-RayDept Test5ept5