shannonsims is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 64bit

VBA to save attachments to shared drive via Forms

In an effort to digitize our personnel files, I am currentlybuilding an Access database that tracks stores employee information, to includeadmin documents, leave requests, training docs etc. After attending anAdvanced Access user class, I discovered that Access databases are limited to2GB. Because each document must be uploaded, loading them into thedatabase will not be sustainable using the attachment feature in Access 2010.
    My goal is to make thepreviously created forms that had been built to save the attachments within theTables now save to a shared drive and create a hyperlink to those stored fileswithin the table using VBA. I'm a Novice with VBA but have slowly startedpicking it up.
    An example of the fieldsexisting in my Admin Document Upload Form "AdminDocUploadfrm" are
    Employee- combo box
    Document Description- combo box

Doc Date - Date
    Doc Upload - Attachment
    Submit - button

My intent is for the VBAprogramming behind the "Submit Button" to format the save nameof the doc by combining the Doc Date+Employee name+DocDescription, save it to adesignated location on the shared drive and create a hyperlink in the Accesstable. And complicating things further, the file format is PDF for allsaved docs (Although I don't think I'll need to open the PDF's within Access.
    Any help in where to start onthis or where I can find some source code to start is appreciated. Thanks.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Documents are uploaded from where? If you are simply copying files from one folder location to another that can be fairly simple.

If you need to extract documents from the attachment field and save to folder location:
    http://blogs.office.com/b/microsoft-...cess-2007.aspx

For using hyperlinks, review:
    http://www.allenbrowne.com/casu-09.html
    http://allenbrowne.com/func-GoHyperlink.html