Jetsoon is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Building a local Access DB vs. Web Hosting (via Sharepoint)

Hi Everyone,
    I'm a Newbie here and apologize in advance if this question has been asked before...

I am looking to build a basic Access DB (2010 version) for our company with a basic client table with related order, invoice, and revenue tables. My goal is to offer front facing data entry forms for other users (5 max) at our office where they can add/edit clients, orders etc. and hopefully run/export reports. My question specifically is what options do I have in to Access facilitate these front facing forms w/o requiring users to install and run Access as well (besides myself, the one building the DB)? I'm trying to make this as easy as possibile for the users and am hoping to have the forms web-based.

I was considering the Web-Based Access DB option and host it with MS Sharepoint/Access Services but am concerned with the limited options you get when you choose to build a web-based DB (versus the traditional DB option). If I build a traditional DB and host the DB file on our local server (my preferred option), can other users access just the data entry forms, reports I create w/o having to install Access on their computers? Do I need to host the forms somehow?

My apologizes again for the newbie question. Thanks for any help!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Explore Access Runtime http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=10910 Might have to create a user profile on Microsoft Windows Live to open that webpage. It demanded I login.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

A S MANN is offline Advanced System Analyst
    Windows XP Access 2007
    You can have few more options