Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Daryl2106 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Subquery

Hi, I am trying to write a query that will return records from multiple tables. I currently get an error suggesting I create a subquery or else I get far too many records.

I am not good at SQL, so I am in need of help.

The query is EditAttendanceQuery (I left it in a bit of a state). The fields I need are shown in the query. The records I need are based on the Edit AttendanceQuery (Form). I can get the records I need without the CourseNumber and Section, but it all goes downhill when I include them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Take care,

Daryl
    Attached Files Attached Files

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Before we can address your query question, I have some questions/concerns about your table structure. If a student is enrolled in a class, why is the attendance table tied to the contact info table and not the student enrollment table? Also, if a course (course inventory table) has many class sections, that describes a one-to-many relationship and therefore, the class sections should be in a separate, but related table. I also have a concern about why you have a field identified as 2012classnumber. If a course can have many class numbers over time that too describes a one-to-many relationship. It sounds like we would benefit from an explanation of how courses, class numbers and class section relate to one another in your organization

Hi, Thanks for the reply and sorry for the late response. I sort of knew linking studentAttendance to ContactInformation was not the correct thing to do. I have since joined the Attendance table[StudentEnrollmentID] to the StudentEnrollmentTable [ID]. I thought that may be the problem but it didn't resolve anything. The 2012CalssNumber field is a hangover from last years DB. I should have deleted when I created the AnnualClassNumbers table.

So