bnecrush is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Creating a Purchase Order

I am trying to create a Purchase Order Form. I have a table for Vendor Items and costs already established. I would like a form that has a field for a Purchase Order number (that I enter manually) then below a drop down that would allow me to pick from the list of items already established in the vendor items table, next to that a place to enter in a quantity ordered. There may be several items ordered from the vendor so there would have to be the option for several lines. I am quessing another table would have to be created to store the PO's. I am fairly new to access so any help would be great!

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Before you even think about forms and reports, need to define data relationships and table structures.

Conventional structure for a purchasing db is a table for vendors, a table for products, a table for purchase orders and a table for purchase order details. The last is a junction table that relates each purchase order with products selected for that purchase. Then if you want to track payments on the purchase orders, more tables. There are existing db templates that might serve your needs and lots of off-the-shelf apps like Quickbooks if you don't want to reinvent the wheel.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.