Guitarzan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Front end changes

Hi all,
    Frequent reader first time poster. I'm relatively new to access so I'm trying to wrap my mind around this. I split my database and will have each user store the front end on their individual PC. When I need to update the front end how does this work? Let's say I'm editing the front end on my pc. Do I just re-send the front end file to everyone to use? And will it work as long as i dont change the file name? Or should i be changing the file name and relinking it? What happens if some people keep using the old front end? Its hurting my brain to think how this works.

Sorry so many questions in 1 post!

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Hi -

That's the approach I use, and it works fine. I do all my development on my own PC, using a COPY of the back end, so if I try something that doesn't work, there is no harm done. When it come time to deploy the update to the users, I just re-link all the tables to the production copy of the back end file, and tell my users (there are not many) to install the new version.

You can change the name of the front end, but you should leave the back end alone. If people keep using the older version of the FE, it will still work, but a) they won't have the benefit of benefit of enhancements and b) more importantly, if the update reflects business process changes, users who don't upgrade may be doing things "wrong". Your notice of upgrade should include what the changes are and why they are being made, so that everyone is aware .

HTH

John

R_Badger is offline Knows a few tricks
    Windows XP Access 2003
    I have an automatic updater (sort of).

It's a bit long winded and convoluted but its been working a charm for me for the last 10 months or so.