Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    graciecatt is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Need to only allow users to use forms/reports in 2010 Access database


    I have been all over the internet reading about Access 2010 security and how user-level security is not in this latest version of Access.

    I have built a database of our clients' contracts and other information. I have coworkers that are seriously technologically challenged. I want them to be able to use the database to look up information on their particular clients that they manage by using reports and forms that I've created.

    I do not want them to be able to manipulate the data in any way because they would do something, click somewhere and not know what they did or where they clicked.

    I split my database but there is still access to the tables and they can be changed so that's not the answer. I was hoping there was a way to only allow them to see reports and forms so they wouldn't be able to inadvertently mess up the database.

    If anyone could help me with very clear cut, step-by-step instructions that would be much appreciated. I don't know how to write code so if that's the answer I would need super explicit instructions.

    thank you!!!

  2. #2
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    Start by opening your forms in Design view. On the data tab you will find options to allow users to perform certain actions. Set them to NO.

    also look at the KB from MS

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...001232718.aspx

    Alan

  3. #3
    David04845 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    Create a batch file to launch the application using the code below

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/209207

    @Echo Off
    start msaccess.exe "c:\db.mdb" /runtime
    end

    To make a batch file open notepad.. copy the code above then press save as, select all files where it has text by default. Then type name.bat and press save

  4. #4
    graciecatt is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thank you for the responses - I have Access 2010 (in title of thread) and it does not have user-level permissions.

    any other ideas? Please?

  5. #5
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    Here is a permissions set up that I have used in the past successfully.

    http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=248191

    In addition, you should lock down your db.

    Look at this
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...010235717.aspx

    and this--

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...ffice.12).aspx

  6. #6
    graciecatt is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi Alan -

    thank you for those links. I'm sure they would do the trick but I've been slogging through them and they are beyond my ability.

    I think the easiest answer might be to lock down the database as you suggested with the second link that describes how to hide the navigation pane.

    I can do this easily however then I don't know how to:

    NOTE We do not recommend hiding the Navigation Pane unless the database employs a screen such as a switchboard (a form with buttons or links that enable you to navigate around the database) or uses another method for opening the objects in the database.

    How can I create this switchboard? If all they see are buttons for each query I would like them to be able to run, that would be fine.

    thanks!

  7. #7
    graciecatt is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Alan and anyone else who can help me -

    I've created a Navigation Pane in Access 2010 with the reports (created from queries) that I will allow my coworkers to use. I've set up the database so that the navigation pane is hidden and the database opens up to the Navigation Pane with only the reports they can use.

    this is great and would be the perfect answer to my permissions issue except that these are static reports. Is there any way to add queries to the navigation pane so that every time someone opens the new Navigation Pane, they get the updated result of the query that ran?

    I hope this makes sense. Thanks!

  8. #8
    alansidman's Avatar
    alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    2,529
    This may be helpful.

    http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...earchform.html

    Also google MS Access Switchboards. There are many types out there.

    Alan

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2012, 02:34 PM
  2. Active Directory & Access 2010: Importing Users
    By royarellano in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 02:32 AM
  3. 2010 and 2007 Access Queries, Forms & Reports
    By rpaldridge in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 07:37 AM
  4. 2010 Access reports
    By wthoffman in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 09:36 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 07:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums