mikel is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007

Help with Subforms/Combo Boxes

Hi,

First off, I am new to Access so I'm learning as I go. I've been trying to create a simple gage calibration program but have run into a problem. I have some tables setup and linked and now am trying to create some forms to enter data and I can't figure out how to get it to work.

I have a main form called frmGage (it's linked to a table called Gage) which gives details about the gage (manufacturer, owner, type, size, status, and so forth). On this form I would like to add a button called "Calibrate Gage" which would open a form that I have created called "frmCalibration" (this form is linked to a table called Calibration). But when this form opens I would like to have the general information about the gage (gage S/N, manufacturer, gage type, size, etc) on the top of the form for the gage that was being viewed on the main form. This information should not be editable. On the bottom is where I would like to be able to enter information about the calibration such as calibration date, done by, type of calibration, results, status, etc.

Since there will be multiple calibrations for each gage I have the relationship setup as one to many with the gage on the one side and the calibrations on the many side. I have primary key of Gage_ID in both tables and this part of it seems to be working fine.

If this is not possible with forms or subforms I am open to any other option such as using a combobox on the Calibration form to select the gage before entering the calibration information or any other method that works.

Any thoughts?

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Your choice of forms is initially correct. A MainForm/SubForm is an excellent way to deal with a 1:M relationship. Why not just put a SubForm on your frmGage?
    I have primary key of Gage_ID in both tables and this part of it seems to be working fine.