whistler is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

What in the World? Access Does Not Operate As Expected

When I run a query, Access does not respond as expected with all of the expected results. I am a beginner so I may just not understand how it works.

Tables in Query

Clients ------ Clients/Accounts ------ Accounts

When I create a query, I would expect Access to respond with all Accounts that meet the Criteria in the query, not just the Accounts that have already been connected to Clients through the Clients/Accounts table. Instead, Access filters out results, even though my query wouldn't exclude the account. I would at least like it to show the Accounts, possibly with blanks for the Clients. I am using a query Criteria from a column in the Accounts table. The query essentially says to show me all accounts that are Not Null in this one column. Two of the accounts had not yet been connected to Clients table via the Clients/Accounts table, and the query ignored them by not displaying them. This caused me to miss accounts that should have been listed. Why couldn't the query show me all accounts that fit the criteria? Would you be able to help me understand the reason Microsoft would design it like this?

Many thanks,
    Whistler

alansidman is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Please post the SQL Statement for your query. I think your issue is the type of join you have on the tables but cannot be sure until we see the query itself. The table Clients/Account is a junction table? Because you have a many to many relationship between clients and accounts? Just confirming my understanding.

BTW: the character "/" is a reserved character in Access and should not be used in Field Names or Table Names. It may cause unexpected results or issues.

Windows XP Access 2007
    Alan:

Thanks for your quick reply. Here is the SQL Statement:

SELECT [040 Accounts].AccountID, [040 Accounts].[Account Number], [040 Accounts].[Account Title], [040