Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    jgalloway is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Zipcode Lookup Autofill

Hello,

I know similar questions has been asked before in the form but I cannot find a really good solution.

I worked with FileMaker a lot more from my previous job. My current job they use MS Access. I am trying to get familiar with Access but I am having troubles. In FM I was able to type a zip code and it would automatically populate the City and State. I have a data base with all of the city and states in access. How can I do the same thing in access like I was able to do in FM?

When I type the zip the city and state are automatically populated? Please I am VERY new at this and willing to learn.

Thanks for the help.

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

I've seen this before but its really not making much since to me. Can you kinda spell it out in noobie terms? sorry.

Windows XP Access 2007
    You have a combo box that includes all 3 fields in its row source (it can be a query or a table). You use either of those methods to display/save the other columns (typically the combo would be bound to the "main" field, in your case the zip code).
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Another approach is to join tables. The RecordSource for the form would include a join to the Zip/City/State table. This will make the City and State fields available. Bind textboxes to these fields, Locked Yes, TabStop No.

Have to get the JoinType correct "Show all from maintablename ..."

This does not save the City/State info, just displays it, which is principle of relational database.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.