JFo is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Question Starting a new database

Hi everyone I am relatively new to creating databases and am just about to delve into my biggest project ever so I thought I would get a few opinions as to the best way to start building my database. I figure the original design will be the most important aspect.

Essentially I am creating an equipment inspection system whereby inspectors will go to a number of sites and inspect a variety of equipment with the data recorded in the database. In the future I would like to incorporate pdas or mobile equipment to automate the entry process however at the moment I would just like to get the design right.

As the users of the system will not be programming savvy I would like to make the GUI as user friendly as possible therefore I envisage a switchboard type interface where the user can simply choose add/ edit client, add/ edit site, add/ edit contact, add/ edit inspection, etc.

This is where my first difficulty exists as it seems I have a number of many to many relationships. For example 1 client can have many contacts and work at many sites, many sites can have many contacts and many clients, etc

Therefore I have started by creating a client and a contact table and also a clientcontactjunction table. This works fine for referential integrity however not so well for data entry at this stage. As this is going to be a large system I chose this for my first point. Ideally I would like the user to select client from drop down list or add new, from selection it would give a list of sites, from which you could choose inspection. However if a new client is added it should then ask to enter contact details and then site can be selected or new entered, etc

I can logically code this without the junction table but can't seem to work out how to populate the junction table with the data from the forms, I think subforms and possibly hidden fields may be used.