benthamq is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Login Security w/ Macro Builder and Table

Hello all,

Many thanks in advance for any help offered.

I am new to Access 2010 and I have really very little skill and no experience with it yet.

I am trying to construct a log-in for my database that will permit employees at our company to select their names from a drop down and enter a password.
    I made a table with three fields - an autonumber primary key, a field with user IDs (the records will contain each employee name in this field) and finally a field with passwords (the records will contain each employee's password in this field).
    I built a "login" form with a drop list so the employee can select his/her name and I used a query to the User ID field in the aforementioned table as a data source. Then I put a text box and a button beneath it. My intent is that the employee will select his/her name from the list box, then enter his/her password, then click the button, and finally either enter the database if his/her username and password are correct or get an error message.

I am trying to use the macro builder to create an on click event which will check that both the employee name selected in the drop list and the password typed correspond to the record in the table. It seems easy to use the OpenForm function to make the button just open the form but I get nothing but error messages when I try to build something that can test if the user name and password are correct.
    How can this be accomplished in the macro builder? Is VBA necessary? At least at this point, VBA seems really too difficult to me so I am hopeful that it can be accomplished using the somewhat less daunting Macro builder.