Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    shubhamgandhi is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    22

    Is there any way to get computer specs?

    I'm creating a form in Access that processes millions of lines of data, and takes several hours (depending on your computer). I want to implement a feature that will read the computer specs, such as CPU speed and amount of RAM, and determine how long the process will take.

    Is it possible to get the computer specs using VBA?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows XP Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,824
    Probably.

    Google: VBA computer properties

    Here is one http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=VS.85).aspx
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    these links might be better:

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7...uration-in-vba

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../ee176998.aspx

    http://www.google.com/#pq=winmgmts%2...w=1280&bih=737

    http://www.google.com/#sclient=psy&h...w=1280&bih=737


    I tried it on my machine and I got this for the processor item:

    Code:
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual  CPU  T3200  @ 2.00GHz, Intel Processor, Intel, intelppm
    the code I used to try it:

    Code:
    Sub ff()
    
    Set svc = GetObject("winmgmts:root\cimv2")
    Set objenum = svc.execQuery("select * from Win32_PnPEntity")
    For Each obj In objenum
        Debug.Print obj.Name & ", " & obj.Description & ", " & obj.manufacturer & ", " & obj.service
    Next
    
    End Sub
    and actually, there is a one-liner API call in VBA to get the amount of RAM, if I remember right. I have a list of a few hundred API calls, but I don't have it right now...sorry.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Query performance on different computer
    By nickevans1979 in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 03:16 PM
  2. Import Specs gone after splitting database
    By thart21 in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2011, 04:06 PM
  3. Is this possible on my work computer?
    By imakemedia in forum Database Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 04:21 PM
  4. Text Import Specs
    By orcinus in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 11:50 AM
  5. Using code to set export specs
    By SSylvesterSYC in forum Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2009, 10:29 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums