MissRyan is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit

entering new records

Hello, I am very new to access and having a pretty hard time using it. Basically I need to develop a database for a bunch of test items. For each test item, there are (or will be) 6 alternate versions. Right now I am using the datasheet function and essentially using the sheet just as i would in excel or SPSS. However, I would like to insert a record (or row) in between other records (as new alternate test items get developed I need to enter them into this sheet) but I am finding that when I try to insert a new record (row) it jumps down to the bottom. I will definitely need to move rows around a lot so I need to know if this is possible, and how.

Alternatively, if someone can recommend a more savvy approach to developing a database to track test items, please advise!! Thanks so much for any input!!

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Welcome to the forum!

First and foremost, Access is not a glorified spreadsheet. Organizing data in a relational database such as Access requires a different way of thinking and of course, there are rules that must be followed: rules of normalization.

You first have to analyze your data and determine how the data is related. For example, you say the following:

For each test item, there are (or will be) 6 alternate versions.
    So, you need a table to hold the basic test information. Each test item will be a record in the table

tblTest
    -pkTestID primary key, autonumber field (just a field that Access will use to give the record a unique identifier)
    -txtTestName
    (other fields that describe the test)

You said that a test can have 6 alternate versions; this describes a one(test)-to-many(versions) relationship which is represented by a separate but related table

tblTestVersions
    -pkTestVerID primary key, autonumber
    -fkTestID foreign key relating the version to the corresponding test in tblTest