Bryan021 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Planning/strategy?

Whilst I'm new to Access, I'm reasonably proficient with Excel and VBA (thanks to some books and the Ozgrid forum).

In a couple of years I took a company from pen & paper, and some very rudimentary use of Word and Excel, to a quite automated job log and proposal generation system, and basic inventory and price listings.

I use forms, and lookups between workbooks, all working nicely for the proposals, but the shared workbook for the schedule is a can of worms I want to avoid.

Our company is growing (nice considering the economy) and I want to streamline things as much as I can to avoid hiring any more staff than absolutely necessary, and make life easier for those that we do have.
    I also want to capture real data of whats coming and going through our doors to help understand the business and plan better.

So my feeling is Excel (as great as it is) will soon become inefficient at dealing with the overall project.
    Time to look at Access and start a new learning curve.

The big plan is to have the following in a DB system.
    • Customer Info
    • Job Log
    • Proposals
    • Scheduling
    • Inventory
    • Links to accounting(?)
    We have six workstations on a LAN (~2008 vintage Dells), one has an external HDD shared as "Z:"... all "My Documents" are on this drive, and it's backed up off-site daily.

From what I've read to date, the key to a good DB system is normalized tables, relationships, and planning for the future.

This is a sizable project that is going to have to be developed and implemented in stages.
    So my initial questions are;

Is it more efficient (less taxing on the system) to have smaller tables with limited fields, or larger tables with many?

Is it better to develop this in a single large DB, or do it in several smaller DB that are linked?