webfactoryuk is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2007

How to create form that posts to new table each time

Hi,

Im new to Access so apologise if this is a noobie question and Im just looking for a pointer in the right direction anyway.

I normally make websites but Im currently build a warehouse inspection reporting system in Access.

Got my Forms all setup, posting to tables and spitting out a nice report.

What I need it to do is wipe the tables clean each time for the new inspection bit keep the old data saved somewhere.

Basically the inspectors will obviously visit more than once client and as it stands at the moment, printing the report will print all they're reports off as one.

I was thinking they could just have a blank copy, copy it and rename the copy and use that each time but is there a way to automate this?

Thanks in advance.

jzwp11 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    You would not wipe the tables clean. You would keep old and new data together in the table and just extract what you need using a query with the appropriate criteria.

You can have also have a form where the user selects or inputs the criteria they need and use that to filter the record source of the report.

Sounds like a much more versatile version of what I have!

Trouble is it is also a bit above me.

To do what you say you would need to have a field with a unique ID for each report/session where data was being entered wouldnt you?

And thats how you would call just that info for the report?

I can work it out as far as creating a Clients table and assigning IDs there.

But how do I make it so you dont have to select the client ID everytime you enter a new record for the report?

Thanks for your reply!

jzwp11 is offline VIP