taya621 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2010 64bit

Save items from listbox selections to display on another form and save in table

Hello all,
    I'm pretty new at Access and I cannot find a solution to my problem.

I'm building a project management database in which I have a form for entry of a new project. A user will enter their new project into this form and then come to a button called "assign members" which I have currently made to open another form called "assign members". Assign Members form has two listboxes in which they can double click on employees from the left to put into the right listbox to indicate that they want these people assigned to this project. The object is for them to click a save button so that the items in the right listbox will save to the record they were creating in the new project form and display to them who they chose once they return to the original form for entering a new project. Then, those members need to be saved to the projects table in a column called "assigned members". I can't even figure out how to save the items from the right list box SOMEWHERE, let alone display them on the new project form. Please help!!

NoellaG is online now VIP
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Hi,

I suppose you have a list with the multiselect property set to true.
    In this case you can use the ItemsSelected property to catch the selected values. The following code snip shows how you can print the selected values in the immediate pane:

Code:
        Dim varItem As Variant

For Each varItem In Me.MyList.ItemsSelected
            Debug.Print Me.MyList.ItemData(varItem)
        Next varItem
    Once you can catch the values you can write them to a table using a recordset object.

Kind regards
    Noëlla

Hello Noella - thanks for your help!